Lund University

Denna sida på svenska This page in English


The collaboration between the groups in Theoretical Chemistry, Physical Chemistry and Structural Mechanics started in 1986. In 1996 the three groups enlarged with Theoretical Physics formed a center for scientific and technical computing at Lund University. Although the original groups still represent a large portion of the usage, today they are but a few among many different groups using the LUNARC systems.

Over the years LUNARC has gone through four stages - mainframe, workstations, multicpu SMP machines and  PC clusters.

1986 - 1988 IBM 3090 150/VF
1988 - 1991 IBM 3090 170S/VF
1991 - 1997 Workstations, IBM RS/6000
1994 - 1997IBM SP2, 8 processors.
1998Origin 2000, 46 processors, R10000, 250 Mhz24 Gb processor memory, 64x9 Gb disk Onyx 2
1999Origin 2000, 100 processors, R12000, 300 Mhz
2000Origin 2000, 116 processors, R12000, 300 Mhz
2000Beowulf Cluster, linux cluster with 32 cpus and windows cluster with 8 cpus. The cpus were AMD 1.1 GHz.
200164 of the Origin 2000 processors (embla) were sold to National  Supercomputer Centre (NSC) in Linköping.
2002A 65 processor Linux cluster called whenim64 was installed. The cpus are AMD Athlon 1900+.
2003A cluster called toto7 with 128 Intel P4 2.53 GHz processors was added to the same queueing system as whenim64.
2003100 cpu cluster called sigrid was installed as part of the SweGrid project.
2004 - 2005210 cpu Opteron 148 (64-bit) cluster called docenten was installed.
Page Manager: